University of Pittsburgh
People

Faculty

Classics

Andrew M. Miller
Field: Greek poetry
amm2@pitt.edu l Web site

 

Mark Possanza
Fields: Latin literature of the late Republic, didactic poetry, and textual criticism and transmission of texts
possanza@pitt.edu l Web site

 

English

Curtis Breight
Fields: Renaissance culture and Shakespeare on film.
ccb@pitt.edu l Web site

 

David Brumble
Fields: Late medieval and Renaissance literature
brumble@pitt.edu l Web site

 

Hannah Johnson
Fields: medieval historical writing and modern historiography, contemporary philosophies of history, and the literary aspects of medieval cultural forms committed to truth-telling projects, such as saints’ lives and travel narratives
hrjohn@gmail.com l Web site

Ryan McDermott
Field: medieval literature
rjm95@pitt.edu l Web site



Marianne Novy
Fields: adoption literature, Shakespeare, and women writers of the early modern period and 20h-21st century, outsiders in Shakespeare
mnovy@pitt.edu l Web site

 

John Twyning
Fields: formation of an English historical and national consciousness in various forms of architecture, literature, art and landscape
twyning@pitt.edu l Web site

 

Jennifer Waldron (Director)
Fields: Renaissance Drama and post-Reformation religious controversy in England. Her interests include ritual and performance theory, religious polemic, word/image problems, and histories of gender and the body
jwaldron@pitt.edu l Web site


Michael West
Fields: The Classical tradition; Renaissance culture; Christian heroism; mock-heroic, satire, and comic forms; puns; stylistics, rhetoric, and linguistically oriented criticism; pedagogy; the short story; the American Renaissance; Irish literature—with expertise on Spenser, Shakespeare, Milton, Dryden, Thoreau and Joyce
mikewest@pitt.edu l Web site

 

French and Italian

Two Women of the Great Schism: The Revelations of Constance de Rabastens by Raymond de Sabanac and the Life of Ursulina of Parma by Simone Zanacchi

Renate Blumenfeld-Kosinski
Fields: French medieval literature and culture, in particular Christine de Pizan; allegorical poetry; female spirituality; church history.
renate@pitt.edu l Web site

 

James Coleman

Early modern reception of the classics, Intersections of literature, philosophy, and politics, Orphic literature, Italian Humanism and Islam, Dante, Petrarch, Boccaccio and their reception.
jkc31@pitt.edu l Web site

My Muse Will Have A Story To Paint

Dennis Looney
Fields: Renaissance Studies; reception of the classical tradition in European literature and culture; vernacular classicism; Dante; Ariosto
looney@pitt.edu l Web site

 

Masculinities in Theory

Todd Reeser
Fields: Renaissance Studies; French Renaissance Prose; Montaigne and Rabelais; Gender and Sexuality; Critical and Gender Theory; Masculinities; French Cultural Studies.
reeser@pitt.edu l Web site


Fra letterati e galantuomini

Francesca Savoia
Fields: Italian Theater from the Renaissance to the early nineteenth century Opera theory and criticism, seventeenth and eighteenth century Italian literature, interrelations of Literature and Music
savoia@pitt.edu l Web site

 

German

FACULTY TBA

History

Martha Chaiklin
Fields: Early Modern Japan, Dutch East India Company, Material Culture
chaiklin@pitt.edu l Web site

 

Janelle Greenberg
Fields: Early Modern Britain, Medieval and Early Modern Law and Political Thought , Western Europe, European Family history
janelleg@pitt.edu l Web site

 

Diego Holstein
Fields: World History, Historiography
holstein@pitt.edu l Web site

 


Molly Warsh
Fields: World History, Early Modern Iberian and British Worlds, Early Caribbean, Commodities and Consumption.
warsh@pitt.edu l Web site



Bruce Venarde
Fields: Medieval European History, Western Civilization, Religion, Gender
bvenarde@pitt.edu l Web site

 

Emily Winerock
Fields: Early Modern England and Europe, Social and Cultural History,
Puritanism and Religious Politics, History of Dance
winerock@pitt.edu l Web site

Hispanic Languages and Literatures

Gonzalo Lamana
Fields: colonialism and subalternity, cultural contact, meaning-making, and historical change
lamana@pitt.edu l Web site

History of Art and Architecture

 

 

Shirin Fozi
Fields: medieval sculpture; memorials and funerary monuments; medieval treasury arts; Mediterranean luxury goods; German architectural sculpture in the twelfth century
sfozi@pitt.edu l Web site

 

Ann Sutherland Harris (Emerita)
Fields: European painting, drawing, and sculpture, 1500–1700, especially by Italian and French artists; women artists, 1500–1800 and 20th century; images of women, 1500–1700; history of landscape painting, 1500–1700. ash@pitt.edu

M. F. Hearn (Emeritus)
Fields: architectural history and theory in the medieval and modern periods
fih@pitt.edu

 

Christopher J. Nygren
Fields: early modern visual culture, Christian icon painting, Titian 
cnygren@pitt.edu l Web site

 

M. Alison Stones (Emerita)
Field: illuminated manuscripts.
mastones@hotmail.com

 

Franklin Toker
Fields: urban history and medieval and American art and architecture
ftoker@pitt.edu

 

 

History and Philosophy of Science

James Lennox
Fields: Ancient Greek philosophy, science and medicine and Charles Darwin and Darwinism
jglennox@pitt.edu l Web site

 

Peter Machamer
Fields: 16th- and 17th-century topics, especially Galileo, Descartes and Hobbes, and in the philosophy of psychology and neuroscience, and social science, and on values and science. He also does empirical work in cognitive psychology.
pkmach@pitt.edul Web site

 

Paolo Palmieri
Fields: History of Early Modern Science, Galileo
pap7@pitt.edu l Web site

 

 

Music

Donald Franklin
Fields: Bach studies: source criticism, performance practice, and musico-theological issues. Notational and temporal procedures in 17th- and 18th-century music
dof@pitt.edu l Web site

 

Mary Lewis (Emerita)
Fields: Italian Renaissance Music; Music Printing and Publishing; Music in Society; Early Western Plainchant; Women and Music; Source Studies
lsm@pitt.edu l Web site

Religious Studies

Tony Edwards
Fields: Wittgenstein, philosophy of language, philosophy of mind, philosophy of religion, metaphysics, metaphor, religious ethics, Aquinas, Maimonides
tedwards@pitt.edu l Web site

 

Adam Shear
Fields:Medieval and early modern Jewish cultural and intellectual history, history of the Jewish book and the impact of print on Jewish culture and thought in the early modern period, the cultural role of Jewish philosophy in the formation of early modern Jewish identities, Jewish thought and intellectual culture in early modern Italy, the Jewish Enlightenment movement and its relation to the medieval and early modern Jewish past
ashear@pitt.edu l Web site

 

Slavic

David J. Birnbaum
Fields: Humanities computing, particularly the computer processing of medieval Slavic manuscripts. Slavic linguistics, particularly diachronic and synchronic phonology and morphology. Medieval Slavic texts.
djbpitt@pitt.edu l Web site

Theater Arts

Kathleen George
Fields:playwriting and dramatic literature
georgeke@pitt.edu l Web site

 

History of Medicine

Jonathon Erlen
erlen@pitt.edu l Web site